Sea Organ at Zadar

So I stumbled across this amazing musical instrument in Croatia, it blew my mind so I though I would share it with you.

The Sea Organ is located on the shores of Zadar and is the world’s first musical pipe organ played by the sea. It is made of 35 organ pipes locate under the white marble steps. The organ uses air created by the movement of the waves and tides to create musical chords. The velocity and size of the wave creates different harmonies.

The Sea Organ was created by architect Nikola Basic in 2005 in an attempt to redevelop the coast line that was devastated by the second world war. The organ now draws tourists from all over the world who come to listen to the unique sounds and to enjoy the wonderful sunsets with a view of the nearby islands. In 2006 the organ was awarded with the prize ex-aequo of the fourth edition of the European Prize for Urban Spaces.

The Sea Organ has recently be joined by another Nikola Basic creation, Greeting To The Sun. The installation is made up of solar powered light panels built into the pavement in a circular shape. These panels are activated at sunset and react to the music created by the Sea Organ.

So what do you think?

I love it! I close my eyes and can just imagine being there, listening to the Sea Organ, watching the Greeting To The Sun and smelling the ocean. God I wish I was there now!

On another note my weekends plans consist of a BBQ tomorrow under the Story Bridge with some friends and then Sunday I will be volunteering at the RACQ International Women’s Day Fun Run. If your not doing anything Sunday you could always enter, they are taking entries all the way up to 3.30pm tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

